Vegan or Not?

Click on the tabs to check your answers!

1. Jelly

Not vegan. Most jellies contain gelatine which is derived from animals. There are some jellies that are suitable for vegans. Our favourite is Just Wholefoods which can be found here on the Viva!Shop.

2. Oreos

Yes! The original and the double filled (yum) are all accidently vegan! Be careful when buying some other flavours, as some aren’t suitable for a vegan diet.

3. Peanut Butter

Yes! Unlike Dairy Butter, Peanut Butter is vegan and made entirely from peanuts. It’s a great source of protein. Spread on toast or add to recipes, like the …..  find it here at the Vegan Recipe Club.

4. Eggs

No. Eggs are often seen as being the least harmful of all animal products. But many don’t realise the cruelty behind the egg industry.

5. Fruit Pastilles

Yes! As of 2020 the sharing bags are completely vegan. The smaller packets aren’t vegan as of yet, but the new vegan-friendly recipe will be used across the full range of Fruit Pastilles sweets eventually!

6. Honey Roasted Nuts

Nuts are always vegan friendly but look out for any additional flavourings added. Nuts roasted with honey are not vegan. Bees are harmed and often killed in the process of humans farming them for honey!

7. Heinz Tomato Soup

This Cream of Tomato soup contains cow’s milk. But Heinz’ vegetable soup and their Lentil soup are accidentally vegan for a super quick meal on the go!

8. Chilli Heatwave Doritos

Yes! These spicy crisps are accidentally vegan. Unfortunately, some of their other flavours aren’t vegan but opting for a chilli kick is cruelty-free!

9. Marmite

Yes! You either love it or you hate it, but either way, it’s vegan friendly!

10. Worcestershire Sauce

No. Worcestershire sauce contains anchovies (a small, slender fish). But good news, Hendersons Relish is suitable for vegans and according to Matt Helders from the Arctic Monkeys it’s just “like Worcester sauce, but one million times better”.

11. Starbursts

Yes! These chewy sweets don’t contain any animal products.

12. Mcvities Chocholate Covered Digestives

Mcvities chocolate covered digestives are not suitable for vegans. But don’t worry – Mcvities Original Digestives are suitable for vegans! Grab a cuppa topped with your favourite plant milk and get dunkin’.

13. Mayonnaise

Mayonnaise contains eggs so isn’t suitable for vegans. But Hellmans, Heinz and most supermarket own brands now offer vegan mayo’s!

14. Jus Rol Croissant Dough

Yes! Usually, croissants are made with butter but found in the pastry section of the fridge is this bake at home dough!

15. Beef and Tomato Pot Noodle

Surprisingly yes! This pot noodle contains no animal products and is accidentally vegan.

How much does a single vegan save in a year?

  1. How many animals does a single vegan save each year (by not eating them)?
    1. 365
    2. 127
    3. 59
  1. How many pounds (lbs) of grain does a single vegan save?
    1. 10,200
    2. 14,300
    3. 15,600
  2. How many gallons of water?
    1. 401,500
    2. 106,400
    3. 376,200
  3. How many tonnes of CO2?
    1.  1.2
    2. 2.6
    3. 3.3
  4. How many square feet of forest?
    1. 634
    2. 3,765
    3. 10,950
  1. a. 365 animals a year means one animal avoids being killed every day you are vegan!
  2. b. 14,300lbs is the same as 6.5 tonnes of grain!
  3. a. This is approximately the same as filling 10,000 baths at once!
  4. c. Adopting a plant-based diet is one of the best ways of reducing our personal carbon footprint.
  5. c. 10,950 square feet could mean a lot of animal habitats saved!

Are these celebrities vegan or not?

  1. Joaquin Phoenix
  2. Miley Cyrus
  3. Ariana Grande
  4. Tobey Maguire
  5. Liam Hemsworth
  6. Ricky Gervais
  7. Natalie Portman
  8. Bill Clinton
  9. Leonardo DiCaprio
  10. Arnold Schwarzenegger
  11. Billie Eilish
  12. Rain Wilson
  13. Peter Dinklage
  14. Simon Cowell
  15. Lewis Hamilton
  1. Joaquin Phoenix – Vegan
  2. Miley Cyrus – not vegan anymore
  3. Ariana Grande – Vegan
  4. Tobey Maguire – Vegan
  5. Liam Hemsworth – not vegan anymore
  6. Ricky Gervais – Vegan
  7. Natalie Portman – Vegan
  8. Bill Clinton – Vegan
  9. Leonardo DiCaprio – not vegan – only Vegetarian
  10. Arnold Schwarzenegger – not vegan but is said to be ‘99%’ vegan, making exceptions for filming
  11. Billie Eilish – vegan
  12. Rain Wilson – vegan

Check out more vegan celebs here.

  1. Peter Dinklage – vegan
  2. Simon Cowell – not vegan anymore
  3. Lewis Hamilton – vegan

Which family do these animals belong to?

These families are all the Latin names for the groups of animals that each species could belong to. Test out your biological knowledge (or your Latin skills!) on the questions below!

  1. Pigs
    1. Suidae
    2. Bovidae
    3. Canidae
  2. Cows
    1. Mustelidae
    2. Felidae
    3. Bovidae
  3. Chickens
    1. Hominidae
    2. Hylobatidae
    3. Phasianidae
  4. Salmon
    1. Salmonidae
    2. Anatidae
    3. Scombridae
  5. Turkeys
    1. Crocodylidae
    2. Phasianidae
    3. Meleagrididae
  6. Tuna
    1. Salmonidae
    2. Elasmobranchii
    3. Scombridae
  7. Rainbow trout
    1. Scombridae
    2. Salmonidae
    3. Elasmobranchii
  8. Ducks
    1. Falconidae
    2. Meleagrididae
    3. Anatidae
  9. Crocodiles
    1. Alligatoridae
    2. Crocodylidae
    3. Elasmobranchii
  10. Alligator
    1. Alligatoridae
    2. Crocodylidae
    3. Elasmobranchii
  11. Dogs
    1. Ursidae
    2. Felidae
    3. Canidae
  1. Pigs are in the Suidae – from the same root as the word ‘swine’, Suidae includes pigs, wild boars and warthogs.
  2. Cows are in the Bovidae – hence the word ‘bovine’, an adjective describing anything to do with cows!
  3. Chickens are members of the Phasianidae along with turkeys and pheasants.
  4. Salmon are in the Salmonidae – the clue is in the name!
  5. Turkeys are another sort of Phasianidae.
  6. Tuna are in the Scombridae – a little more obscure, perhaps, unless you know that the Latin word for ‘mackerel’ (similar to tuna fish) is ‘scomber’.
  7. Rainbow trout, similar to salmon, are in the Salmonidae.
  8. Ducks are in the Anatidae, hence why a fear of ducks is called ‘anatidaephobia’.
  9. Crocodiles are members of the Crocodylidae, from the Greek ‘krokodilos’ meaning ‘stone-worm’.
  10. Alligators are in the Alligatoridae. You can tell alligators from crocodiles because of the alligators’ wider snouts. Both species are killed for leather.
  11. Dogs are in the Canidae – they are canines, of course! (Cats, on the other hand, are felines or Felidae.)

You can find out more about veganism and (human) evolution here.

Scroll up